Trial Period

The first three months of your employment are a trial period. This period cannot be extended unless it is effectively shortened by illness, accident or the fulfillment of a compulsory legal obligation. Such extensions must be authorized by means of an employment order (“Verfügung”) from the Human Resources (HR) Department.

Before the end of your trial period, you will have a meeting with your line manager at which your performance during the trial period will be evaluated and the decision as to whether to continue your employment relationship will be placed on record.

Trial period performance appraisal form (PDF, 274 KB)*

If it becomes apparent during the trial period that you do not meet the requirements of your role, your line manager or your HR representative must contact the HR Department at least four weeks before the end of the trial period to discuss what to do next. In such cases, the termination process (formal process with application for termination and granting of legal right to be heard) must be initiated in good time.

It’s important that you are both transparent in your feedback. Both new employees and line managers should be sure to make sufficient notes during the trial period and speak to each other about any problems at an early stage.

 

* Note: If you have problems filling out the form, please perform the following steps: Save the PDF on your device, go to your file (e.g. in your Downloads folder), right click and select OPEN WITH Adobe Reader or Acrobat Pro. This will then enable you to edit the file.

Probezeit

Die ersten drei Monate Ihres Arbeitsverhältnisses gelten als Probezeit. Eine Verlängerung ist ausgeschlossen, ausser bei einer effektiven Verkürzung der Probezeit infolge Krankheit, Unfall oder Erfüllung einer nicht freiwillig übernommenen gesetzlichen Pflicht. Eine solche Verlängerung muss von der Abteilung Personal verfügt werden.

Vor Abschluss Ihrer Probezeit erfolgt ein Gespräch zwischen Ihnen und der vorgesetzten Person. Bei diesem Gespräch wird eine Beurteilung Ihrer Leistung in der Probezeit vorgenommen und festgehalten, ob das Arbeitsverhältnis weitergeführt wird.

Formular Probezeitbeurteilung (PDF, 275 KB)

Wird während der Probezeit festgestellt, dass die gewünschten Anforderungen von Ihnen nicht erfüllt werden, muss Ihre vorgesetzte Person oder Ihre/n zuständige/n Personalverantwortliche/n umgehend, mindestens vier Wochen vor Ablauf der Probezeit, mit der Abteilung Personal Kontakt aufnehmen, um das weitere Vorgehen zu besprechen. Ein allfälliges Kündigungsprozedere (formelles Verfahren mit Antrag auf Kündigung und Gewähren des rechtlichen Gehörs) muss rechtzeitig initiiert werden.

Wichtig: Seien Sie beide in Ihrem Feedback transparent! Machen Sie sich, sowohl als neue/n Mitarbeitende/n wie auch als vorgesetzte Person, während der Probezeit genügend Notizen und sprechen Sie frühzeitig miteinander allfällige Defizite an.